Lambert-Eaton News Forums Forums General Questions and Topics Why I Help Moderate This Forum, My Anniversary Month

• Why I Help Moderate This Forum, My Anniversary Month

Posted by Price Wooldridge on January 13, 2022 at 1:05 pm

Recently, when discussing topics and ideas for an upcoming Podcast, we were asked why @ashleygregory757 and I moderate this forum. Good question. I can only speak for myself, but I believe Ashley and I share some of the same motivations. I think we like communicating with others and getting altruistic satisfaction by helping others with LEMS. Ashley is a nurse, and I have been a Registered Respiratory Therapist, both of us working in a hospital setting. It was a second, detour profession for me, but Ashley’s primary career. It’s my observation, working in a hospital setting, most medical professionals get great satisfaction helping others with their medical problems. In a hospital, these are often severe and can be life-threatening. I believe this is why I enjoy being a LEMS forum moderator so much.

This month is my second anniversary working for BioNews, the Lambert-Eaton forums, and other rare diseases too. My primary background is in communications, having worked in broadcast radio and TV for over 30 years. It has always been my first love. I was originally hired to record audio tracks which are produced into Flash Briefings and are available to listen to on Soundcloud, Apple, and other such platforms. In the first couple of years, I’ve recorded for Lambert-Eaton, Spinal Muscular Atrophy, and Multiple Sclerosis. The big bonus here is I learn so much about them by reading and recording these audio tracks.

Because I have LEMS myself, the opportunity arose in the first year for me to team up with Ashley and moderate this forum. I’d never done anything like this, but hey, throughout my career, you “fake it ’til you make it”. It’s been educational for me and great fun!