Lambert-Eaton News Forums Forums BioNews Content Flash Briefings Meditation is good for those of us with LEMS.

• Ashley

September 15, 2020 at 7:49 am

Hey @pricewool

I love this flash briefing you did! I completely agree that it is VERY important to not be obsessive with your health conditions in general and have found that the more I worried about LEMS symptoms, the worst I felt. My symptoms became exacerbated due to stressing myself out. When I took a step back, I actually felt a lot better and symptoms became more manageable.

I think meditation and mindset are very important for the chronic illness community in general. I believe having a positive mindset makes a big difference in the symptoms you experience. Finding some happiness or “making lemonade” when you are given lemons is extremely important and I try not to focus too heavily on the negative because I can literally feel it dragging me down.

As you may know, I have been practicing yoga for a couple of years now. This has really helped me center myself and become more mindful. Yoga is one of those special places you mentioned loving so much. I also really enjoy the beach, especially at sunset and sunrise. I have been bad in the past about making time for myself, but this summer has made me realize that I need to take more time for myself and “let go” of some of the things that have overstressed me/caused flares in the past.

Thank you for sharing these useful tips with us! I hope some will find them useful!

• Dawn DeBois

September 15, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Hi @pricewool,

I’m so envious of you and that pool!! I’d be fighting you for waterfall time if I was there! I absolutely agree meditation and finding peace amidst the current storms we are living through is so important.